Majority Leader's Affordable Housing Task Force

MEETING MINUTES

Thursday, September 7, 2023

11:00 AM in Room 2B of the LOB and Zoom and YouTube Live

The meeting was called to order at 11:09 AM by Chairman, Sen. Duff, B. S25.

The following committee members were present:

Sen. Duff (25), Rep. Luxenberg (012), Sen. Rahman (04), Rep. Kavros DeGraw (017), Rep. Scott (112), Rep. Fazio (36), Comm. Mosquera-Bruno (Department of Housing), Dept. Comm. Laoise King (Department of Transportation), Comm. Alexandria Daum (Department of Economic and Community Development), Melissa Kaplan-Macey (VP, State Programs CT Director at Regional Plan Association), Peter Zvingilas (Assistant Director of Regulatory Compliance Department of Administrative Services), Betsy Gara (Council of Small Towns), Nandini Natarajan (Chief Executive Officer CHFA), Rebecca Augur Responsible Growth Coordinator), Jessica Vonashek (Norwalk Chief of Community and Economic Development), David McCarthy (President Heritage Housing Inc.), Neil Griffin Jr. (Executive Director Glastonbury Housing Authority), Francis Pickering (Executive Director Western CT Council of Government), Brian O'Connor (Director of Public Policy ~ CT Conference of Municipalities), Cindy Butts (Chief Executive Officer CT Association of REALTORS)

Chair Sen. Duff, B. S25 offered opening remarks. Roundtable members introduced themselves.

Chair Sen. Duff, B S25 moved to item three on the agenda, Organization of Working Groups, and stated that the roundtable will establish five working groups to be chaired by select roundtable members. Members of the roundtable were asked to submit two working groups that they would like to participate in.

Chair Sen. Duff, B S25 moved to item number four on the agenda, Presentation by Department of Housing – Existing Affordable Housing Programs and Initiatives.

Page Two Minutes September 7, 2023

Commissioner Seila Mosquera-Bruno, Deputy Commissioner Brandon McGee, and Michael Santoro (Director of Policy, Research and Housing Support DOH) presented the various initiatives and programs that the Department of Housing is administering and participating in such as applying for grants, assisting municipalities in implementing affordable housing plans, increasing the stock of housing in the state, the rising costs of construction, and the desire to educate realtors regarding CHFA loans, among other things. Questions and comments on these topics were offered by Rep. Luxenberg, G. 12, Rep. Kavros DeGraw, E. 17, CEO of the Connecticut Housing Finance Authority Nandini Natarajan, CEO of the Connecticut Association of Realtors Cindy Butts, Brian O'Connor, Chair Sen. Duff, B. S25, and David McCarthy.

Chair Sen. Duff, B S25 moved back to agenda item three, Organization of Working Groups, to state that members can sign up for more but no fewer than two working groups. The chair assignments for the working groups were announced.

- 1. Existing affordable housing policies, programs and initiatives
 - a. DOH Comm. Seila Mosquera-Bruno
- 2. Conversion of state properties
 - a. Jessica Vonashek
- 3. Conversion of non-residential properties
 - a. David McCarthy
- Successful models and best practices from other states and regions

 Sen. Bob Duff
- 5. Barriers to development of affordable housing
 - a. Rep. Jason Rojas

Chair Sen. Duff, B S25 announced future meeting dates.

- 1. Thursday October 19, 2023, at 11:00 AM
- 2. Thursday November 9, 2023, at 11:00 AM

The meeting was adjourned at 12:14 PM.

Richard O'Neil

Committee Clerk